Pre-Christmas post

Doesn’t it just seem like when you  want to have Christmas fun, daily life gets in the way?  That’s the way it’s been for me—and so it was that when I received a note from the IRS that they were doing a mail audit on on 2013 taxes— I just wanted to climb back in bed and put the covers over my head.

However, instead I sent an email to my current CPA ( not the one familiar with 2013) and to a friend asking for help.  I discovered the CPA was on vacation and the friend could not help me do the photocophying of receipts until next week….well, I have a little time, but me being me, I wanted to get it done and off my plate. In the meantime I pulled our the box for 2013 and remembered that was the year I ‘donated’ my timeshare, something they may raise an eyebrow at, and donated all Roger’s uniforms to a Theater company, which for whatever reason my CPA just put under miscellaneous contributions!!!

And of course there are a few things they may question in my ‘medical expenses’ as well.  So it’s difficult not to obsess about what may go wrong, rather than lean on God’s everlasting arms.

All this to say, my Christmas cards may be late this year—most likely—and  even tho I send them out electronically, I have decided not to even open that ‘box’ in my computer until I get this job dealt with.

If I only go to two of the events I planned to enjoy rather than 6, that’s OK too.  The first one was Saturday night’s Lessons and Carols at Memorial Church, the second is a musical group on Thursday night which is way too expensive to miss.  Actually, the later in the month I send the receipts in, the less likely they are to get back to me til after Christmas….

I’m planning to breathe deepy of the evergreen wreath I put on my door, and let things happen as they will…Each of you who read this blog, try to do the same—can you smell the scent of Christmas?

 

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Nuts!! So sorry to hear about your IRS audit. A big, old load of stress and right before Christmas. Hope you are able to enjoy your festivities. Let me know if you have time for a coffee this month 🙂 – Karen

    Reply
  2. Brenda Tanner

     /  December 7, 2015

    Rosalie–you are exactly right. Life Happens. We have prayer requests every week in SS. Someone said the saying we have all heard, “growing old is not for sissies”!

    My birthday is on the 15th of Dec. I have had 2 sets of freinds tell me they wanted to go out to lunch with me on my birthday. I have a daughter convalescing from a hysterectomy and my best friend’s husband is 86 and in the hospital. Neither has family anywhere close. I want to be able to help her. THat is one of my spiritual gifts–service or is it helps? I love to minister to those in need. I told all the friends, that I would rather wait till after Christmas to go out because I have so much uncertainy now that it would put stress on me to have another thing scheduled. I already have a doctor visit and hair appointments. They totally understood. Of course, Carroll will take me out on my birthday or if someone needs me, it will be another day. Having lived with him and; his traveling for business, I am long accustomed to celebrate on a different day.

    Life sure changes as we age. We want to move closer to our daughter when our house sells. Contrary to other markets, Gated mountain community sales are low. We are one hour from Atlanta. We are asking $250K less for the house than we have in it and it has been on the market 8 months–no offers –not that many showings. Our realtor said one a month is good for our area. We had an architect draw up plans for this house. We chose the lot and every door knob and cabinet pull–everything. This is our dream house–thought my last one was but we decided to move to the mountains. In out next house the main criteria is location and master on the main. WE will be in a subidivison with small lots. WE have never liked that–a compromise for location. I do not plan to do hardly any upgrades. At this point in my life, I do not care about doorknobs, light fixtures, etc. We plan to sell almost all our furniture–too expensive to move and not have it right for the next house. I no longer have to buy stuff good enough for a lifetime–LOL

    Material things mean so little now–I tell Carroll that is pretty easy to say when you have so much. But the only thing I desire, money cannot buy. I so long for my daughters to come back to the Lord and live for Jesus. WE have prayed this for years.

    I am so glad to know that you have been able to go on with your life. I know you still mlss Roger, but life goes on. WE cannot change our circumstance, only how we react to them. Become bitter or let it help you mature.

    I want to also thank you for being willing to invest yourself–long ago to a SS class in Annandale.. Our devotional today was about mentoring other Christians. You were doing that then. I know you have been blessed as we have been. God is good, all the time—but especially in the bad times. What would we ever do without Him??

    I did not mean to write an epistle, but I ended up sharing my heart with you.

    We will always remember your kindness to us when we visited you. That was really special and meant a lot to us.

    Wishing you more of God’s blessings at this time of year, Brenda

    Reply
    • Brenda–I don’t remember if I ever thanked you for your note, not only the r3ecollection of many years ago, but your heartfelt needs and concerns..now that Im on FB of course we connect that way more frequently……Rosalie

      Reply
  3. Brenda Tanner

     /  December 7, 2015

    What beautiful sentiments–

    Reply
  4. Bonnie Lien

     /  December 8, 2015

    Well this unpleasant surprise hasn’t dampen your creative writing. You are so expert at being focused on your current circumstances that I believe you will enjoy the festivities you have time for twice as much and getting this task behind you bringing you great joy! God Bless you dear Rosalie! lol

    Reply
  5. thanks for the vote of confidence!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

