Last week I spe…

Last week I spent 7 nights in a small hotel off Union Square.  It was a timeshare trade I needed to use,

and I wanted to test my ability to take another step in being a single person.  Someone recently told me

‘one is still a whole number’.  Yeah, but sometimes a solitary one.

 

My plans for taking public transit carrying only a small overnight bag plus computer briefcase worked out,

altho I should have researched the fact that Mason Street is very steep from Post to Sutter. ( my return was

much easier, as by then I had discovered the nearby bus that ran direct to the CalTrain Station.)

Warming: just about all the BART automatic stairs in stations seem out of order.  I did a lot of climbing

stairs.

 

I played the tourist and rode the ‘get on/get off’ tour bus one day;ending up with a couple of hours at Pier

39 ( have lunch early, and you may be lucky enough to have a wonderful view of the bay and the seals

and sailboats). The Museum of Modern Art has never been my favorite, but they had an interesting display

of Mexican Photography ( no postcards for sale in giftshop), but the real highlight is the top floor walkway

to a second building. wonderful views of the city from  this walkway making the $3 sparkling lemonade

worth the price.I’m hoping some of the photos I took with my came/smart phone will be worthy of printing.

I made the trip to the Asian Art Museum on the day when everyone else was celebrating the Golden Gate

Bridge Anniversary, and found plenty of small adequate restaurants within a block or two of my hotel.

 

I had dinner with friends two nights, which was really nice; folks I don’t see that often.  I spent quite a lot of

time reading (hence the heavy suitcase)  and writing in my journal and working thru a book on grief ( page a

day for what may be the next several years).

 

All in all, a very satisfactory week, but next time I think I’ll get a larger room and take a friend.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. vintagekaren

     /  June 3, 2012

    I’m so proud of you Rosalie!

    Reply
  2. Lori

     /  June 14, 2012

    Great Rosalie, What super start. It reminds me of a friend of mine who rented a place in the Arizona for a month. She had each of her kids come for a week and then had friends come for a few days here and there. I was part of the friends group which was our gourmet gals and we were there for 3 or 4 days. There are all sorts of ways to combat the lonely times. This journey will require a depth of strength you indeed possess. Thanks for sharing the Widowwalk.

    Reply
  3. gbean135

     /  June 16, 2012

    Thanks for this armchair tour of SF and a further peek into your heart.

    Reply

Leave a comment